Ian Morgan does battle at the Oxford Blue Photo Copyright Tim Olin

The 18th February 2017 saw the hardy D-Zero fleet head to Oxford SC for the Oxford Blue which was the 8th and final round of the D-Zero Winter Series 2016/2017. With first and second places already secured by Ian Morgan and Rob Lennox respectively all eye were on the battle between Nigel Austin, Tom Southwell and and late charging Mandy Sweet (more on that in the full event report later).

Once the number crunchign was done and some confusion over the number of laps resolved Ian Morgan had taken the event win with Tom coming home second, Mandy 3rd and Nigel in 4th. What effect would this have on the overall results?

Tom and Nigel ended up tied on 11 points with Nigel getting the nod thanks to his 1st place from the Brass Monkey. Mandy came up just short on 12 points leaving her 5th overall.

So congratulations to Ian who takes the Winter Series crown and has also earned the right to carry the letter W on his sail. Some may hope that this extra weight might slow him down a little to allow the rest of us to catch up!

For full series standings please click here.