Video highlights courtesy of Ian Morgan

Ian Morgan showing off his light wind skills. Photo Copyright Tim Olin

Firstly apologies for the delay in getting this done. Your results collator and roving reporter has had a thing called life get in the way. Hopefully that is all now sorted and normal service will be resumed….

On the 17th and 18th November the hardy D-Zero fleet travelled to Draycote Water for round 1 of their winter series. This was also round 1 of the GJW Direct Sailjuice Winter Series.

Nigel Austin leads Rob Lennox. Photo Copyright Tim Olin

In predominantly light winds on the Saturday current Inland Champion Ian Morgan took fleet honours in all 4 races leaving him placed 13th overnight ahead of the non-discardable pursuit race on the Sunday. Behind him Tom Southwell and Rob Lennox were having a battle for the rest of the podium spots with Rob just edging Tom out in the overnight standings with Nigel Austin in him now (in)famous ‘Southwell Beater’ bringing up the rear.

Ian held a fairly comfortable lead in the fleet and, barring a disaster, looked good to take round 1 of the series. All was to play for between Tom and Rob with only a few points between them.

All together (briefly) Photo Copyright Tim Olin

Sunday dawned and the pursuit race was a very light affair. Ian managed to stay ahead of Tom and take 24th in the race giving him 12th overall for the event. Tom managed to finish a couple of places behind Ian in 26th and had done just enough to get back ahead of Rob in the overall standings the pair of them finishing 27th and 30th overall respectively. Nigel posted a 38th to finish 45th overall, a solid result that he was happy with in the fleet of over 90 boats.

D-Zero poster boy Tom Southwell posing for the camera. Photo Copyright Tim Olin

So after round 1 Ian leads the way from Tom, Rob and Nigel. the next event is the Datchet Flyer that is this coming weekend. there is still just about time to get your entry in with discounted entry available until midnight on the 4th and entry closing on the 7th. Online entry can be done by clicking here.